top of page

Should Christians Celebrate Halloween?

It is quite often I witness those who walk with Jesus; celebrating Halloween.

It was not long ago that I was doing the exact same thing myself, and I made all the reasons in my head to justify my actions, despite feeling convicted every.single.year.

October is Halloween month for many and I want to take this opportunity to share with all of you; the journey that I took to be where I am regarding this very topic.

I hope by sharing my journey I can start conversations amongst my readers and give them the chance to make decisions for their life that will bring honour to God.


market of clay pots

I have made the title of this topic a question for a reason; because I believe everyone’s convictions are different and I’m here hoping to provoke thought.


“Finally, Brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy; meditate on these things” - Philippians 4:8

Which brings us to the question....


Should Christians Celebrate Halloween?

It’s not uncommon for people to struggle with whether to celebrate Halloween.

Some see it as a dark day full of evil influence while others deem it a harmless time for fun, costumes and lollies. For some people, this holiday is a time for dress-up and an opportunity to get together with family and friends. Others express concern for their children’s safety or for the emphasis that is often made on violence or horror at this time of year.

Those who are interested in the right or wrong of the celebration may look at the holiday’s origin in the occult and believe it should not be celebrated at all; they are aware that some groups celebrate Halloween as a tribute to Satan.

On the other hand, others recognise that Halloween, the eve of “All Saints’ Day” (November the 1st), is also associated with Martin Luther King and the Reformation.

They celebrate the religious freedoms won at that time in history.

Since each of these perspectives contain truth, it is sometimes difficult to know how to respond, or what to do.


First we must look at the origins of Halloween...


The word Halloween means the evening before All Hallows Day celebrated on November the 1st. Halloween is also the shortened name of All Halloween, All Hallows’ Evening and All Saint’s Eve which is celebrated on October the 31st.

The origin and meaning of Halloween are derived from ancient Celtic harvest festivals and the festival of Samhain (pronounced sow-in), which was celebrated to welcome in their new year on November the 1st.

This day also marked the end of summer and the harvest and the beginning of the dark cold winter, a time of year that was often associated with human death. Celts believed that on the night before the new year, the boundary between the worlds of the living and the dead became blurred. On the night of October the 31st they celebrated Samhain (pronounced sow-in), when it was believed that the ghosts of the dead returned to earth. Samhain is also the name of the demonic god of death that the Druids worshipped.

To commemorate the event, Druids built huge sacred bonfires, where the people gathered to burn crops and animals as sacrifices to the Celtic deities. During the celebration, the Celts wore costumes, typically consisting of animal heads and skins, and attempted to tell each other’s fortunes.

This happened over 2,000 years ago, but; with the second half of the 19th century, America was flooded with new immigrants. These new immigrants, especially the millions of Irish fleeing the Irish Potato Famine, helped to popularise the celebration of Halloween nationally.

Borrowing from European traditions, Americans began to dress up in costumes and go door knocking asking for food or money, a practice that eventually became today’s “trick-or-treat” tradition.

Young women believed that on Halloween they could previse the name or appearance of their future husband by doing tricks with yarn, apple peels and or mirrors.

Another tradition is the druidic belief that during the night of November the 1st, demons, witches, and evil spirits freely roamed the earth with joy to greet the arrival of “their season” (the long nights and early dark of the winter months). The demons had their fun with poor mortals that night, frightening, harming, and even playing tricks on them. The only way, it seemed, for scared humans to escape the persecution of the demons was to offer them things they liked, especially fancy foods and sweets.

Or, in order to escape the wrath of these spirits, a human could disguise themselves as one of them and join in their roaming. In this way, the spirits would recognise the human as a demon or witch and the human would not be disturbed. Which is why more recently the Western Culture think of Halloween as an evening filled with lollies, tricks, pumpkins, ghosts, vampires, and of course the Devil and his demons.


Don't fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name; you are Mine.” - Isaiah 43:1

If it was fear that made these people start this tradition, then God actually commands us not to fear.

The phrase “fear not” is used at least 80 times in the Bible, most likely because he knows the enemy uses fear to decrease our hope and limit our victories.

The Bible assures us that if we submit to God and resist evil, the devil and his demons will flee from us.

In James 4:7, James said "Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you" and in the book of Luke chapter 10 verse 17, Luke says "The seventy-two returned with joy and said, "Lord, even the demons submit to us in your name".

He will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” - Deuteronomy 31:8

What about the Jack-o-lantern?

The Celtics had satanic priests called Druids. On October the 31st, the Druids went from house to house demanding certain foods, and all those who refused were cursed. The people were tormented by the means of magic. As they went, the druids carried large turnips which they had hollowed out and on which they had carved demon faces as charms. Each one was believed to contain the demon spirit that personally led or guided that priest: his little god.


Which then started the Celtic folklore story about Stingy Jack.

The legend tells of an Irish man named Stingy Jack. He tricked the Devil into promising not to take his soul at his death. When Stingy Jack died, he went to Heaven. But he was not allowed into Heaven because of all the bad things he had done during his lifetime. Stingy Jack was then sent to the Devil, who could not let him into Hell because he had promised not to take his soul. Without admittance into Heaven or Hell, Jack was sentenced to wander in darkness for all eternity... purgatory. Knowing this, the Devil gave Stingy Jack an ember to light his way in the darkness. Stingy Jack hollowed out a turnip to serve as a lantern to carry the ember as he wandered.


This is clearly not biblical, let us break this down.

  1. The Devil promising not to take Jack's soul is the first problem. The Devil can't take anyone's soul. The soul belongs to God.

  2. The Devil has no control over who enters Hell. Hell was created for the Devil and his demons. He is not the gatekeeper of Hell.

  3. The Devil would not have given Jack an ember to light his way through the darkness. The Devil does not do acts of kindness. In fact the Devil desires us to be kept in darkness. God shows us the light, God is the light.

The tradition of carving turnips to be used for lanterns was brought to America by Irish and Scottish immigrants. Americans the began carving pumpkins around 1820, during a turnip shortage. Which grew popular for Americans because of the Headless Horseman who had a carved pumpkin as a head.


So knowing the origins of the Jack-o-lantern, knowing that the faces on them that we carve are in fact faces of the demons guiding the Druids from door to door, should Christians be partaking in carving out pumpkins or turnips for that matter?


Let me share my story...


My Story...


I was born on the 31st of October.

That right there should be all you need to know... because all I knew or at least all I thought I knew was that I was being called to Halloween by being born on that date.

My whole existence revolved around Halloween.

I would emerge myself in the celebrations of that day and night entirely.

I would wake up early in the morning and start getting ready for that afternoon.

I was the person who would argue black and blue that just because it was an "American tradition" didn't mean Australians couldn't participate. It was safe to say I even advocated for Australians to embrace Halloween tradition.

Growing up I was always more creative than academic, whether it be writing, painting, playing instruments, dancing, singing, costume making, crafts, drawing and makeup, I thrived on creativity.

So Halloween suited me... I was able to make my own costumes, do a creative makeup, body painting piece and be an entirely different character for that day.

Honestly, it was where I was content, happy and comfortable. I waited the entire year for that day.

It wasn't my Birthday, it was Halloween.

As a child I started becoming obsessed with everything about Halloween, for example... Ghosts, Vampires, Witches, and Magic. I had witch decorations in my room, hanging witch toys that cackled and rode a broom.

As a teenager I got into magic, I would say "It's just white magic", and during that engagement with magic, I became gothic, I wore dark clothes, black lips, black nails, and my whole identity was Goth... which then led me to paganism... Now that story and that journey is for an entirely different blog.

But, it was safe to say that Halloween consumed me.

As a young adult I was still dabbling in magic, paganism and I even wore a pentagram around my neck.

My mother in law at the time was mortified. She was this beautiful Christian woman, who was graceful when she spoke about God. She was kind, gentle and very concerned about the things I was interested in.

Unfortunately that lady became my ex mother in law but we held on to the most gorgeous relationship and by the Grace of God she was the one who softened my heart and it was her who guided me to Jesus.

I met my now Husband as a God loving Jesus breathing Christian.

Obviously my interests had changed, I wasn't Gothic anymore, my décor wasn't representing sorcery, I wore a cross around my neck as opposed to a pentagram... and I loved God.

But, unfortunately I wasn't reading his word, or picking up the Bible as much as I should have been.

So, I was missing vital information and went along believing in God whole heartedly but not honouring his word.

Despite some of my interests changing, and me as an individual growing, I was still celebrating and participating in Halloween.

I had a feeling that it might not be a Godly decision that I was continuously making, but it was fun.

I was still able every year to make costumes, and do my makeup and get together with friends, and I was sadly, still not celebrating October the 31st as my Birthday.

I would say things like "But its not about Satan for me", "Its not like I'm dressing as the devil", "I won't dress as anything satanic, no devil costumes, no demons"...


My Husband's Mum asked me questions once about Halloween and whether or not I thought it to be Godly?

Little did she know I was already starting to feel convicted about participating, because those statements, those reasons, or excuses if you will; were all signs of me feeling guilty for making the decision to keep celebrating Halloween. I was trying to hold on to the last bit of Halloween I had before I knew my conscience (aka God) would make me stop.

But the questions she asked really resonated with me, and provoked ongoing thought.

I might not respond at that particular time the way the person has wanted me too, or I might not have even responded at all. But that doesn’t mean I haven’t gone away and reflected on the things that have been said, or the questions that have been asked. I’ll look within, I’ll pray, and I’ll seek an answer. Whether I like the answer or not. If I’m doing something wrong, I personally want to know so that I can focus on that behavior to seek growth and change.

So when my Mother in-law approached me with these questions that sparked ideas, I went away from that discussion and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I felt I was being convicted.

The following year I didn't participate in or celebrate Halloween.


Why?


There's no place that understands the dark, evil and even the demonic, better than the Bible.

Scripture is full of stories where good and evil are pitted against each other, as well as Bible verses that offer wisdom about facing darkness and deception.

I just had to read the Bible to get the answers that I was seeking regarding Halloween.

It was as simple as that. We have already learnt the origins of Halloween, and why those traditions wouldn't affect a Christian and how they live their life.

But what else did I learn when reading scripture?


Well, looking back earlier in this blog, when I was explaining the origins of Halloween, I said quote: "Druids built huge sacred bonfires, where the people gathered to burn crops and animals as sacrifices to the Celtic deities. During the celebration, the Celts wore costumes, typically consisting of animal heads and skins, and attempted to tell each other’s fortunes"

In Leviticus 19:31 it says VERY clearly - "Do not turn to mediums or necromancers; do not seek them out, and so make yourselves unclean by them: I am the Lord your God." Leviticus 20:6 - "If a person turns to mediums and necromancers, whoring after them, I will set my face against that person and will cut him off from among his people."

Its a pretty clear instruction and quite a warning that God has given us regarding necromancy, mediums, fortune telling and those alike.


What else did I learn when reading scripture?


In 1 Corinthians 10:21 it states "You cannot drink the cup of the Lord and the cup of demons. You cannot partake of the table of the Lord and the table of demons."

2 Corinthians 6:14 clearly states "Do not be unequally yoked together with unbelievers. For what fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? and what communion has light with darkness?

Ephesians 5:11 "Take no part in the unfruitful works of darkness, but instead expose them."

Also in the book of Ephesians chapter 4 verse 27 it states "And give no opportunity to the devil."

In Romans 13:12 it says "The night is far gone; the day is at hand. So then let us cast off the works of darkness and put on the Armor of light."

Isaiah 5:20 tells us "Woe to those who call evil good and good evil, who put darkness for light and light for darkness, who put bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter!"

Isaiah also states in chapter 8 verse 19 and 20 that "When someone tells you to consult mediums and spiritists, who whisper and mutter, should not a people inquire of their God? Why consult the dead on behalf of the living? Consult God’s instruction and the testimony of warning. If anyone does not speak according to this word, they have no light of dawn."

And in 3 John, John tells us not to imitate what is evil, but instead what is good.


3 John 1:11 "Beloved, do not imitate what is evil, but what is good. He who does good is of God, but he who does evil has not seen God"

Conclusion

Regardless of whether YOU do or don’t celebrate Halloween or participate in the festivities, the reality is other people do and not everyone will hold the same convictions as you do. The reality is that on that particular night there will be a surge of children wandering the streets, door knocking and innocently putting themselves in vulnerable situations.

So, rather than separate completely from the night’s activities, some Christians give Gospel tracts along with treats to children who come to their homes and make Halloween an opportunity to witness for Christ. Other Christians offer safe places for light-hearted fun, but either way they’re aware that not everyone holds the same beliefs as they do and Children (especially) still need to be looked after and kept an eye on so that everyone’s safety is number one priority. God calls children a true gift and a blessing, and they are. Children are filled with joy, love, innocence, and laughter — all things that adults can lose sight of as they grow older. But it’s also our job to make sure we cherish these gifts and it’s our job as adults to watch over children that don’t always belong to us, the same way as we’d hope other adults would hold our child’s best interests at heart.


... and at the end of the day our main priority should be to work for God and do all the things that honour him.


... which brings us to my opinion: (Ohhh you guys knew it was coming...)


I cannot walk through a shop around Halloween without seeing devil costumes, demon merch, witches/witchcraft, potions, tarot cards, brooms, bats, fear, ghosts, monsters, curses, ouji boards, all seeing eyes, the illuminati pyramid, ghouls, skeletons, blood, and death.

Does this honour God? Does ANY of this honour God? I think you and I both know the answer.

I do not see any part of this "Holiday" glorifying God.


....atleast not MY God.


God tells us to be set apart. He tells us to be set apart from the world. We are to be different, act differently to how the world is acting.


John 17:16-19 - We are called to be holy, just as God is holy.

Romans 12.2 - Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

2 Corinthians 5:17 - Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

1 Thessalonians 5:22 - Abstain from every form of evil.


Halloween has no place in the life of a born-again believer in Jesus Christ. In fact, I would go as far as saying confidently that it is an abomination to God, and we as Christians should stand firmly and boldly against it. Its deep rooted in heathenism, paganism, satanism, the occult and it's modern expression is no better than the others listed here.


I know that abstaining from what you used to think was innocent fun, after finding out there is an underlying evil beneath a day that seemed like its all costumes, junk food and decorations can be overwhelming. Trust me, I know full well how hard it is to abstain from something everyone else is doing, that you used to find fun. I get it, I've been there. In fact, for the first 2 years after I decided to put God first, I would pray to God and ask that he help me overcome the sense of feeling like I was being left out, I didnt want to feel left out, I didnt want to go on instagram and see 31 days of halloween makeup, that I really wanted to partake in, and felt like I missing out on. It was REALLY hard. But we are grown adults that claim that we love God, so it comes a time when we have to make a choice. Do we love Him? do we truly love Him? do we honour Him? and do we choose Him? like, really REALLY choose Him?


... because this:


"Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in them." - 1 John 2:15

We cannot have both. We just can't.


So, it's about time we took up our cross and followed Jesus, completely.



Emma xx


Comentarios


E&S Wedding - Katrina Cram Photography -

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Romans 15:13

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

Psalm 16:8

“I keep my eyes always on the LORD. With him at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.”

2 Corinthians 5:7

“For we live by faith, not by sight.”

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Spotify
bottom of page